0131 442 6600


Total: £0.00

You are here

Principal Designer of the Year

The Principal Designer is a role created under the CDM Regulations 2015.

The judges will be looking for an individual or firm that embodies all of the duties this role entails but also goes that little bit further to further the principles of the regulations.

They should be able to show how they were fully engaged, add value to the whole process, understanding of design risk management, buildability and maintainability issues and involvement in industry wide initiatives.

How do I apply?

All entries must meet the following criteria:

  • Entries must complete the relevant application form and submit evidence by Friday 24 June 2016 (midnight).
  • Entries may be submitted by any member of the Project Team provided consent from the Client has been provided.
  • APS reserves the right to use images and project details submitted for publicity purposes.
  • You may apply for multiple awards, provided that an application form is submitted for each category.
  • Shortlisted projects will be required to provide 3-4 presentation slides. These will be used on the evening of the awards.
  • The decision of the judging panel is final.
  • Supporting evidence must include high-resolution photographs. It may also include any location, site or layout plans, sections, elevations, details and sketches, as appropriate, to assist the judging panel’s decision.
  • Any other evidence to support your submission such as awards, feedback etc.
Entry form

Download your entry form here.

Please send your submitted entry to:

Laura Hardie
E: laura@aps.org.uk
T: 0131 442 6600

Submission deadline: Friday 24 June 2016 (midnight).

Previous award winners

Held in Edinburgh on 7 October 2015, the APS awards 2015 celebrated a range of innovative exemplar projects. Click view to find out more. 

The judges

The judging panel will be made up of representatives from the Royal Institute of British Architects, the Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists, the Health and Safety Executive and the Association for Project Safety.

The Awards Ceremony

The Awards dinner will be held on Thursday 27 October 2016 at the Radisson Blu Portman Hotel London.

Click view to book tickets.